Skip to Content

Coffee House

Cabinet reshuffle live blog: Sajid Javid quits as Chancellor

13 February 2020

10:02 AM

13 February 2020

10:02 AM

Boris Johnson’s much-lauded Cabinet reshuffle has arrived. The sackings are now finished and the new hirings are underway. The biggest news by far is the loss of Sajid Javid. This is how things currently stand:

Sackings and resignations:

  • Sajid Javid – Chancellor of the Exchequer
  • Julian Smith – Northern Ireland secretary
  • Geoffrey Cox QC – Attorney General
  • Andrea Leadsom – BEIS
  • Theresa Villiers – DEFRA
  • Esther McVey – housing minister
  • Chris Skidmore – universities minister
  • Nusrat Ghani – transport minister
  • George Freeman – transport minister



  • Rishi Sunak – Chancellor of the Exchequer
  • Alok Sharma – BEIS
  • Anne-Marie Trevelyan – DFID
  • Oliver Dowden – DCMS
  • Suella Braverman – Attorney General
  • Stephen Barclay – Chief Secretary to the Treasury
  • Brandon Lewis – Northern Ireland Office
  • George Eustice – DEFRA
  • Amanda Milling – Minister without portfolio
  • Penny Mordaunt – Paymaster General in the Cabinet Office
  • Christopher Pincher – Minister at MHCLG
  • Andrew Stephenson – Minister at DfT
  • James Cleverly – Joint minister at FCO and DFID

And here is how the Cabinet currently looks in full:

Rishi Sunak – Chancellor
Sajid Javid resigns

Dominic Raab – Foreign Secretary

Priti Patel – Home Secretary

Michael Gove – Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

Robert Buckland QC – Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice

Ben Wallace – Secretary of State for Defence

Matt Hancock – Secretary of State for Health and Social Care

Alok Sharma – Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, minister in charge of COP 26
Andrea Leadsom has been sacked

Elizabeth Truss – Secretary of State for International Trade and President of the Board of Trade, Minister for Women and Equalities

Thérèse Coffey – Secretary of State for Work and Pensions

Gavin Williamson – Secretary of State for Education

George Eustice – Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Theresa Villiers has been sacked 

Robert Jenrick – Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government

Grant Shapps – Secretary of State for Transport

Brandon Lewis – Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
Julian Smith has announced his sacking

Alister Jack – Secretary of State for Scotland

Simon Hart – Secretary of State for Wales

Baroness Evans of Bowes Park – Leader of the House of Lords, Lord Privy Seal

Baroness Nicky Morgan – Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Anne-Marie Trevelyan – Secretary of State for International Development
Alok Sharma has moved to BEIS

James Cleverly – Minister without Portfolio

Also attending Cabinet 

Stephen Barclay – Chief Secretary to the Treasury
Rishi Sunak is now the Chancellor

Jacob Rees-Mogg – Leader of the House of Commons, Lord President of the Council

Mark Spencer – Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury (Chief Whip)

Suella Braverman – Attorney General
Geoffrey Cox QC has been sacked

Kwasi Kwarteng – Minister of State for Business, Energy and Clean Growth

Jake Berry – Minister of State (Minister for the Northern Powerhouse and Local Growth)

Vacant – Minister of State for Housing
Esther McVey has announced her sacking

Vacant – Minister of State for Security and Deputy for EU Exit and No Deal Preparation
Brandon Lewis moved the Northern Ireland Office

Zac Goldsmith – Minister of State

Oliver Dowden – Paymaster General and Minister for the Cabinet Office

Show comments