Skip to Content

Coffee House

Letters of no confidence in Theresa May: live updates

11 December 2018

9:00 PM

11 December 2018

9:00 PM

UPDATE: 48 letters of no confidence have now been reached.

It’s been four long weeks since the last rebellion against Theresa May, when the ERG and Brexiteers fell short of the numbers they needed to trigger a leadership election.

Now, it’s being reported that Tory MPs have had enough, and are once again submitting letters of no confidence to the chairman of the 1922 committee, Graham Brady. Speculation is rife that the total number of letters has already been reached this evening.

Once 48 letters have been submitted, a confidence vote will be triggered. But before them, Brady is likely to let the PM know in private first, to give her the chance to resign before any confidence vote takes place.

There is no requirement to publicly announce that you have submitted a letter, and MPs can withdraw one whenever they like, so only Brady knows how many letters are actually in his possession. However, the 29 MPs listed below have publicly declared that they have sent their letters to him. Keep in mind, the real total is likely to be higher. We will keep this updated as events unfold:

    1. Steve Baker
    2. Crispin Blunt
    3. Peter Bone
    4. Ben Bradley
    5. Andrew Bridgen 
    6. Bill Cash
    7. Maria Caulfield
    8. Simon Clarke
    9. Philip Davies
    10. Nadine Dorries
    11. James Duddridge
    12. Mark Francois
    13. Marcus Fysh
    14. Zac Goldsmith
    15. Chris Green
    16. Philip Hollobone
    17. Adam Holloway
    18. Andrea Jenkyns
    19. David Jones
    20. Andrew Lewer
    21. Anne Marie Morris
    22. Sheryll Murray
    23. Owen Paterson
    24. Jacob Rees-Mogg
    25. Laurence Robertson
    26. Lee Rowley
    27. Henry Smith
    28. Martin Vickers
    29. John Whittingdale


Show comments