Skip to Content

Coffee House Steerpike

Spectator Parliamentarian of the Year 2018, in pictures

29 November 2018

12:48 PM

29 November 2018

12:48 PM

To the Spectator’s Parliamentarian of the Year awards where politicians from across the political divide gathered to celebrate the best of Westminster. After a year which saw numerous cabinet resignations, failed coups and Brexit barneys, the annual awards proved more topical than ever.

Liz Truss stepped in for last year’s Parliamentarian winner Ruth Davidson – currently on maternity leave – to host the event. The Chief Secretary to the Treasury set the tone for the evening with a speech which held no punches. Of her new Cabinet colleague Steve Barclay, Truss joked that when it came to picking a host for the evening’s awards, she hoped she wasn’t as far down the list as Barclay was for the role of Brexit Secretary.

Meanwhile, on accepting the gong for ministerial resignation of the year, Tracey Crouch took the opportunity to embrace her inner Baroness Trumpington by flicking a V-sign at Philip Hammond – who was absent from the event – over the FOBTs row.

Here are a selection of pictures from the event, courtesy of Alan Davidson and Anne Schwarz:

Penny Mordaunt, Matt Hancock and Liz Truss

Jess Phillips

Adam Boulton and Jess Phillips

Emily Maitlis

Adam Boulton and Jess Phillips

Toby Young

David Davis and Dominic Raab

Maria Miller

Penny Mordaunt

Linda Nelson and Rigel Mowatt

Liz Truss and Tracey Crouch

Nicky Morgan

Two Brexiteers and Liz Truss

David Davis and Andrew Neil

Jo Tanner

Iain Duncan Smith and Emma Barnett

Toby Young and Tim Smith

Alastair Stewart, Michael Crick, Mary Creagh and John Connolly

David Davis

Andrew Neil, Dominic Raab, Trevor Kavanagh and Julia Hartley-Brewer

Penny Mordaunt and Steve Baker

Nick King

David Davis and Kate Perrior

Andrew Whittaker and Jonathan Reynolds

Timothy Garton Ash and James Forsyth

Kemi Badenoch

Dominic Raab and Emily Maitlis

Nick Robinson, Matt Hancock and Martha Hancock

Katy Balls and Liz Truss

Cindy Yu and Lucy Gilchrist

Tom Newton Dunn and Diane Abbott

Dominic Raab, David Davis and Tracey Crouch

Show comments