Skip to Content

Coffee House Steerpike

All the ministers who’ve resigned from Theresa May’s government

1 November 2018

7:17 PM

1 November 2018

7:17 PM

Another one bites the dust. Sports Minister Tracey Crouch became the latest minister to resign from the government this evening, in protest at Theresa May and Philip Hammond’s decision to delay the introduction of a £2 maximum stake on fixed-odd betting terminals. Crouch’s resignation puts her in the growing group of Conservative MPs who have resigned from Theresa May’s dwindling government since the 2017 general election – some leaving in protest, and some in disgrace.

And since the number of resignations seems to keep on growing larger and larger, Mr Steerpike thought it only best to remind readers who’s departed (so far):

Michael Fallon
Resigned in November 2017 after a journalist told Downing Street he had lunged at her

Priti Patel
Resigned in November 2017 after having unofficial meetings with Israeli officials

Damian Green
Resigned in December 2017 after porn allegations

Justine Greening
Resigned in January 2018 after refusing a job as work and pensions secretary

Amber Rudd
Resigned in April 2018 after ‘inadvertently’ misleading MPs over illegal immigrant removal targets

Greg Hands
Resigned in June 2018 over Heathrow expansion

Philip Lee
Resigned in June 2018 over May’s Brexit strategy

David Davis
Resigned in July 2018, protesting against Theresa May’s Chequers Brexit plan

Steve Baker
Resigned in July 2018 over Chequers

Boris Johnson
Resigned in July 2018 over Chequers

Guto Bebb
Resigned in July 2018 in protest at May’s concessions to Brexiteers

Andrew Griffiths
Resigned in July 2018 after explicit texts to a constituent were revealed

Tracey Crouch
Resigned in November 2018 over delays to maximum stakes for fixed-odds betting machines.

Mr S will leave places reserved for future arrivals.

Show comments