Skip to Content

Coffee House

Cabinet reshuffle: Justine Greening quits the Cabinet

8 January 2018

8:12 PM

8 January 2018

8:12 PM

Theresa May’s reshuffle is underway. Here are the key points so far:

  • Justine Greening has quit the government; Damian Hinds is the new Education Secretary
  • David Gauke becomes the Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice
  • Esther McVey becomes work and pension secretary
  • Karen Bradley is the new Northern Ireland Secretary after James Brokenshire resigns due to ill health
  • Matt Hancock is the new Culture Secretary
  • David Lidington appointed minister for the Cabinet Office
  • Claire Perry is the new minister of state for business
  • Brandon Lewis is new Tory party chairman following confusion over Chris Grayling‘s reported appointment. James Cleverly is new Tory party deputy chair
  • Jeremy Hunt, Philip Hammond, Greg Clark, Boris Johnson, David Davis, Gavin Williamson and Amber Rudd stay put

Here is all the action as it unfolded on our Spectator live blog:

Show comments


Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.