Skip to Content

Coffee House Steerpike

Jacob Rees-Mogg wins an election

7 September 2017

12:07 PM

7 September 2017

12:07 PM

Although Jacob Rees-Mogg recently topped a ConHome poll as the number one choice to be the next Tory leader, few believe he has the mainstream appeal to lead the party to victory in a general election. However, Rees-Mogg can take heart that he has just secured enough votes to win a prestigious place on the Brexit select committee.

With 14 Tories vying for the 10 available seats on the Exiting the EU Committee, the Brexit bunch have proved triumphant:

Peter Bone
Chris Chope
Stephen Crabb
Jonathan Djanogly
Richard Graham
Andrea Jenkyns
Jeremy Lefroy
Craig Mackinlay
Jacob Rees-Mogg
John Whittingdale

Alas Anna Soubry hasn’t been so successful – the Remain MP missed out on a place, again.

Show comments


Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.