Skip to Content

Coffee House

Reshuffle: the full list of jobs

7 October 2013

3:30 PM

7 October 2013

3:30 PM


  • Rob Wilson – PPS to George Osborne
  • Gavin Williamson – PPS to the Prime Minister
  • Judith Jolly – whip in the House of Lords (LD)
  • Anna Soubry – Parliamentary Under Secretary at Ministry of Defence (Con)
  • Tina Stowell- Parliamentary Under Secretary at DCLG (Con)
  • Kris Hopkins –  Parliamentary Under Secretary at DCLG (Con)
  • Wayne David – PPS to Miliband (Lab)
  • Amber Rudd – assistant whip (Con)
  • Claire Perry – assistant whip (Con)
  • Gavin Barwell – assistant whip (Con)
  • John Penrose – assistant whip (Con)
  • Karen Bradley – government whip (Con)
  • Douglas Alexander – chair of General Election strategy, as well as shadow foreign secretary (Lab)
  • Emma Reynolds – shadow minister for Housing, attending shadow cabinet (Lab)
  • Gloria de Piero – shadow Minister for Women and Equalities (Lab)
  • Tristram Hunt – shadow Education secretary (Lab)
  • Vernon Coaker – shadow Secretary of State for Defence (Lab)
  • Chris Leslie – shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury (Lab)
  • Rachel Reeves– shadow shadow Work and Pensions Secretary (Lab)
  • Jane Ellison – Parliamentary Under Secretary at Department of Health (Con)
  • Stephen Williams – Parliamentary Under Secretary at DCLG (LD)
  • Dan Rogerson – Parliamentary Under Secretary at DEFRA (LD)
  • Sam Gyimah –  Whips’ Office (Con)
  • Michael Dugher – shadow Cabinet Office minister (Lab)
  • Robert Goodwill – Parliamentary Under Secretary at the Department of Transport
  • Shailesh Vara – Parliamentary Under Secretary at the Ministry of Justice
  • Matthew Hancock – Skills and Enterprise Minister (Con)
  • Norman Baker – Home Office minister (Lib Dem)
  • Susan Kramer – Minister of State at Department for Transport (Lib Dem)
  • Andrew Robathan – Minister of State at Northern Ireland Office (Con)
  • Hugh Robertson – Minister of State at Foreign and Commonwealth Office (Con)
  • Nicky Morgan – Economic secretary to the Treasury (Con)
  • Sajid Javid – Financial secretary to the Treasury
  • Mike Penning – Minister of State at DWP (Con)
  • Greg Clark – Cities and constitution minister (Con)
  • Esther McVey – Employment Minister (Con)
  • Greg Hands – Deputy Chief Whip (Con)
  • Don Foster – Chief Whip (LD)
  • Alistair Carmichael – Scottish Secretary (LD)

Down or sideways

  • Mary Creagh and Maria Eagle are performing a straight swap from DEFRA to Transport briefs (Lab)
  • Ivan Lewis – moved to Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary (Lab)
  • Stephen Twigg – moved from Shadow Shadow Minister for political and constitutional reform (Lab)
  • Liam Byrne – demoted to Shadow Minister for Higher Education (Lab)
  • Jim Murphy – moved from shadow defence secretary to International Development (Lab)
  • Helen Grant – loses half her job at Justice to remain parliamentary under-secretary at DCMS (Con)
  • Greg Clark – loses the Treasury half of his job (Con)


  • Jon Trickett – shadow Cabinet Office Minister (Lab)
  • Alistair Burt – Foreign and Commonwealth Minister (Con)
  • Liam Byrne sacked as Shadow Work and Pensions (Lab)
  • Stephen Twigg sacked from Shadow Education (Lab)
  • Greg Knight – sacked as a whip (Con)
  • Jeremy Browne – sacked as Minister of State for the Home Office (LD)
  • Mark Hoban – sacked as Employment minister (Con)
  • Mark Prisk – sacked as Housing minister (Con)
  • Richard Benyon – left the Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Con)
  • Michael Moore – sacked as Scottish Secretary (LD)
  • John Randall – resigned yesterday as Deputy chief whip (Con)
  • Chloe Smith – resigned yesterday as Cabinet Office minister (Con)
  • Simon Burns – resigned earlier this week as Transport Minister (Con)
  • Rob Flello – resigned last week as shadow justice minister (Lab)
  • Anne Maguire – resigned last week as shadow minister for disabled people (Lab)

Show comments